Skip to content

Graphic novels to read if you loved Heartstopper

If you have already binged all the Heartstopper content out there, why not try some other graphic novels (Picture: Metro.co.uk/Waterstones)

Heartstopper is a tale of high school queer romance that has taken Netflix by storm.

The show has reached number two in the top 10 TV programs on UK Netflix today and volume one of the graphic novels, which the show is based on, has just made the New York Times bestseller list.

While season two of the show is yet to be confirmed, why not stay in the world of Heartstopper a little bit longer and read all four volumes of the graphic novel, written by Alice Oseman?

And if you’ve already done that, why not try some other graphic novels to keep the good times going?

Our recommended reads are ahead.

heart stopper

Book art for heart stopper.  Showing the back of Nick and Charlie

‘Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love.’ (Picture: Waterstones)

‘Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us,’ publisher, Hachette Children’s Group, writes.

Buy for £10.99 from Waterstones

Check, Please!: #Hockey

Check please book cover.  Showing a group of people in red and white uniforms playing hockey

A great choice to add to your list (Picture: Waterstones)

Written by American cartoonist and graphic novelist, Ngozi Ukazu in 2013, Check, Please!, became a New York Times-bestselling graphic novel.

It is a collection of the first half of the popular webcomic series of the same name, Check, Please!: # Hockey is the first in a two-volume coming-of-age story about ‘hockey, bros, and trying to find yourself during the best four years of your life.’

‘Eric Bittle is a former Georgia junior figure skating champion, vlogger, and amateur patissier,’ says the Waterstones description. ‘But nothing could prepare him for his freshman year of playing hockey at the prestigious Samwell University in Massachusetts.’

Buy for £12.99 from Waterstones

Lumberjanes

Cover art for Lumberjanes.  One of the girls is wearing green and shooting a bow and arrow

There are 20 volumes! (Picture: Waterstones)

This comic book series, created by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Gus Allen and ND Stevenson, contains 20 volumes – so will keep you occupied for a while.

The award-winning series follows the adventures of five best friends who spend the summer at the Lumberjane scout camp.

‘It’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Gravity Falls and features five butt-kicking, rad teenage girls wailing on monsters and solving a mystery with the whole world at stake,’ says publisher, Boom! Studios.

Buy volume one for £10.99 from Waterstones.

mooncakes

Cover of Mooncakes.  The two main characters are in the middle in front of a yellow background

An LGBTQ+ YA Graphic novel (Picture: Waterstones)

An LGBTQ+ YA Graphic novel written by Suzanne Walker and illustrated by Wendy Xu, Mooncakes is a spellbinding binding love story filled with demons, witchcraft and family.

‘Nova Huang works at her grandmothers’ bookshop, where she helps loan out spell books and investigate supernatural occurrences in their New England town. One night, she follows reports of a white wolf into the woods, but instead she comes across her childhood crush de ella, Tam Lang, ‘writes publisher, Lion Forge, LLc, The.

Buy for £13.99 from Waterstones.

sheets

Sheets cover art.  A ghost is inside a washing machine.

She befriends a real ghost (Picture: Waterstones)

This graphic novel by Brenna Thummler follows the story of 13-year-old Marjorie Glatt, who feels like a ghost. She runs the family laundry business, while navigating everyday school life. Until one day when her world de ella collides with Wendell, a real ghost.

Buy for £11.99 from Waterstones.

Fence Vol. 1

Cover art showing someone holding a fencing blade

He has to play against his half-brother (Picture: Waterstones)

‘Through clashes, rivalries, and romance between teammates, Nicholas and the boys of Kings Row will discover there’s much more to fencing than just foils and lunges,’ writes Publisher, Boom! Studios.

Sixteen-year-old Nicholas Cox is an outsider to the competitive fencing world but is determined to prove himself. But things get complicated when he’s playing up against his half-brother of him, as well as fencing prodigy, Seiji Katayama.

Buy for £7.50 from Waterstones.

Pumpkinheads

Pumpkinheads cover art.  Deja and Josiah are lying on the ground wearing overalls and checked shirts.

A very autumnal read (Picture: Waterstones)

Written by Rainbow Rowell and illustrated by Faith Erin Hicks, Pumpkinheads follows the story of best friends Deja and Josiah.

Every autumn, all through high school, they worked together at a pumpkin patch. However, this Halloween is different because Josiah and Deja are finally seniors, and this is their last season at the patch and their last shift together.

This last shift turns into adventure.

Buy for £10.99 from Waterstones.

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through one of these links but this never influences our experts’ opinions. Products are tested and reviewed independently of commercial initiatives.

Do you have a story to share?

Get in touch by emailing MetroLifestyleTeam@Metro.co.uk.

MORE : These are the books people wish they could read for the first time again

MORE : Heartstopper’s Joe Locke and Kit Connor: ‘It’s A Sin is important but it’s also important to have queer stories that show love’

MORE : There were no books for kids that reflected my LGBT blended family – so I wrote one

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.